SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 05: Hilton Cartwright, David Warner, Nathan Lyon and Josh Hazlewood of Australia watch the replay on the big screen as they wait for a DRS decision during day three of the Third Test match between Australia and Pakistan at Sydney Cricket Ground on January 5, 2017 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

Australia are expected to face the West Indies at the Adelaide Oval in mid-January next year as the schedule for next summer's cricketing calendar takes shape.

The Aussies are set to host both the West Indies and Pakistan across five Tests through next summer, with Perth, Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide and Brisbane all involved.

The West Indies will venture to Adelaide Oval and the Gabba for their two appearances, the former reportedly being a day Test as opposed to recent day-night matches in South Australia.

According to The Sydney Morning Herald, Adelaide's Test will take place in the middle of January following discussions with Cricket Australia.

A push by the SA government and its cricket association for the New Years Test was flagged earlier this year, while a time slot for the week of January 26 was also seen to be an option for the Adelaide Test.

Instead, Sydney will hold their traditional slot as the first Test of the new year, while the Gabba is expected to host the West Indies close to Australia Day.

That will leave Adelaide as the fourth Test of the summer and the first for Australia's series with the West Indies, which will come after a trio of matches against Pakistan.

Perth is expected to kickstart the summer schedule in December before the Boxing Day Test and Sydney Test.