SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 09: David Wiese of South Africa (C) reacts after taking the wicket of Aaron Flinch during game three of the Men's International Twenty20 series between Australia and South Africa at ANZ Stadium on November 9, 2014 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Munoz/Getty Images)

David Wiese has become the latest South African cricketer to turn their back on the international arena, after signing a three year deal to play with Sussex in England's county cricket.

The 31-year-old signed a Kolpak contract with Sussex, meaning he is no longer eligible to play for his country while the deal is running.

Wiese was expected to feature in South Africa's upcoming T20 series against Sri Lanka, but the fast bowler joined countrymen Kyle Abbott and Rilee Rossouw in leaving their native land for a county contract.

Following Abbott and Rossouw's decisions to leave the country, Cricket South Africa immediately ripped up their CSA contracts, and Wiese's deal with the board is likely to follow suit.

The Kolpak contracts are named after a Slovak handball player who in 2003 won a ruling allowing for anyone with a work permit from a country that has an associate trading agreement with the European Union the same rights as an EU worker.

Wiese - who's represented his country in T20 internationals 20 times and ODI's six times - has once again weakened the side for the Proteas' upcoming T20 series, as no fewer than six players with be handed T20I debuts against Sri Lanka.

The inexperienced Proteas side will now be led by all-rounder Farhaan Behardien, although veterans AB de Villiers and Morne Morkel are chances to play in the third and final T20 international if they get through a domestic one-day game unscathed three days prior.

South Africa T20 squad: Farhaan Behardien (captain), Theunis de Bruyn, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Heino Kuhn, David Miller, Mangaliso Mosehle (wkt), Lungi Ngidi, Wayne Parnell, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Jon-Jon Smuts.