HOBART, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 16: Pat Cummins of Australia celebrates the wicket of Mark Wood of England during day three of the Fifth Test in the Ashes series between Australia and England at Blundstone Arena on January 16, 2022 in Hobart, Australia. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

The final series of what will be a brutal eight months in the longest form of the game for Australia has been confirmed, with the England Cricket Board announcing the dates and venues for the 2023 Ashes series overnight.

While dates and fixtures are yet to be confirmed, Australia will also play four Tests against India away from home in a four-Test series during February and March, with the World Test Championship Final also to be held in England less than a fortnight before the start of the Ashes.

With home series from December to January against the West Indies and South Africa, it means Australia could play 15 Tests between December and July, or 14 if they don't qualify for the World Test Championship Final, with the English assignment being the final of the lot.

For the first time in Ashes history, no matches during a series hosted in England will carry on into August, with the series slated to wrap up on the final day of July to allow players to take part in the Hundred.

The venues selected are exactly the same as the last time Australia toured England for the Ashes in 2019, with Edgbaston, Lord's, Headingley, Old Trafford and the Oval hosting the five Tests.

The series kicks off at Edgbaston on June 16.

2023 Ashes schedule

First Test: Friday June 16-Tuesday June 20, Edgbaston
Second Test: Wednesday June 28-Sunday July 2, Lord’s
Third Test: Thursday July 6-Monday July 10, Headingley
Fourth Test: Wednesday July 19-Sunday July 23, Emirates Old Trafford
Fifth Test: Thursday July 27-Monday 31, The Kia Oval