Australia v South Africa - Third Test: Day 1
SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 04: Marnus Labuschagne of Australia looks dejected after being dismissed by Anrich Nortje of South Africa during day one of the Third Test match in the series between Australia and South Africa at Sydney Cricket Ground on January 04, 2023 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)
Australia v South Africa - Third Test: Day 1

Marnus Labuschagne was sensationally cut from Australia's World Cup squad earlier this week, but will have a chance to score runs in the 50-over format when he travels with an Australia A squad to take on New Zealand A in Brisbane and Mackay later this month.

The Australia A outfit will clash with New Zealand A in three one-day games and two four-day games, with Labuschagne picked among the one-day outfit.

Other fringe members of the World Cup squad, including Wes Agar, Ben Dwarshius, Matthew Khunemann, Ben McDermott, Todd Murphy and Josh Philippe have also been selected for the three games.

Young guns Ollie Davies, Liam Hatcher and Will Sutherland have also been included, while a strong squad also features Matthew Renshaw, Matt Short, Ashton Turner, Mark Steketee and Gurinder Sandhu.

Agar, Dwarshuis, Kuhnemann, Philippe and Steketee are the five players who have been included in both the one-day and four-day squads.

The four-day squad will likely have the most intriguing storyline of the matches, with David Warner's spot in the Test XI to be available from January.

Cameron Bancroft, Caleb Jewell and Tim Ward appear to have jumped to the front of the queue to replace Warner after being included in the four-day squad for the A matches against New Zealand.

Intriguingly, South Australian Henry Hunt has been overlooked, combined with the fact Renshaw won't feature in the games.

Elsewhere in the four-day squad, the likes of Matthew Kelly, Joel Paris and Mitchell Swepson will gain opportunities to impress with the ball, while youngsters Jordan Buckingham, Campbell Kellaway and Mitch Perry all feature.

Australia A four-day squad

Wes Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jordan Buckingham, Ben Dwarshuis, Caleb Jewell, Campbell Kellaway, Matthew Kelly, Matthew Kuhnemann, Nathan McAndrew, Nathan McSweeney, Joel Paris, Jimmy Peirson, Mitch Perry, Josh Philippe, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, Tim Ward

Australia A one-day squad

Wes Agar, Ollie Davies, Ben Dwarshuis, Liam Hatcher, Matthew Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Ben McDermott, Todd Murphy, Josh Philippe, Matthew Renshaw, Gurinder Sandhu, Matt Short, Mark Steketee, Will Sutherland, Ashton Turner


First four-day match: August 28-31, Allan Border Field
Second four-day match: September 4-7, Great Barrier Reef Arena (D/N)
First one-dayer: September 10, Great Barrier Reef Arena
Second one-dayer: September 13, Allan Border Field (D/N)
Third one-dayer: September 15, Allan Border Field