Australia and India have announced their XI's ahead of the series opener at Adelaide Oval on Thursday, with Joe Burns and Matthew Wade getting the nod for the opening spots.

Marnus Labuschagne will hold his place at first-drop, followed by middle-order incumbents Steve Smith and Travis Head.

Western Australia allrounder Cameron Green will make his debut, batting at six.

Virat Kohli will lead his side in the opening test before returning home to India, with the visitors set to welcome back Rohit Sharma for the Boxing Day Test as they aim to defend the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Australia XI:

Joe Burns

Matthew Wade

Marnus Labuschagne

Steve Smith

Travis Head

Cameron Green

Tim Paine (c, wk)

Pat Cummins

Mitchell Starc

Nathan Lyon

Josh Hazlewood

India XI:

Prithvi Shaw

Mayank Agarwal

Cheteshwar Pujara

Virat Kohli (c)

Ajinkya Rahane

Hanuma Vihari

Wriddhiman Saha (wk)

Ravichandran Ashwin

Umesh Yadav

Mohammed Shami

Jasprit Bumrah