ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 20: Aaron Finch, David Warner and Steve Smith of Australia sing the national anthem during the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup match between Australian and Pakistan at Adelaide Oval on March 20, 2015 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

Australia have announced its 15-man World Cup squad for their upcoming defence.

Steve Smith and David Warner will make their long-awaited return to Australian cricket after missing the last year, while a few big names have been left out of the side.

The absence of in-form batsman Peter Handscomb and veteran pace bowler Josh Hazelwood were among the most surprising selection choices.

Aaron Finch was named skipper of the side, while Alex Carey will serve as the wicketkeeper.

Australia’s World Cup campaign begins against Afghanistan on June 1.

Australia’s 15-man World Cup squad:

Aaron Finch (c)
David Warner
Usman Khawaja
Steve Smith
Shaun Marsh
Glenn Maxwell
Marcus Stoinis
Alex Carey
Pat Cummins
Mitchell Starc
Nathan Lyon
Adam Zampa
Jason Behrendorff
Nathan Coulter-Nile
Jhye Richardson