BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 24: Jhye Richardson of Australia celebrates after taking his first test wicket, the wicket of Dinesh Chandimal of Sri Lanka during day one of the First Test match between Australia and Sri Lanka at The Gabba on January 24, 2019 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

Australia will play their upcoming three-match ODI series against India without gun quick Jhye Richardson, who has tweaked his hamstring.

He has been replaced in Australia's ODI squad for the tour by New South Wales-born Tasmanian fast bowler Nathan Ellis.

Returning to cricket for Fremantle in the Western Australian premier cricket competition on Saturday, Richardson bowled just four overs before tweaking the same hamstring that ruled him out of the second half of the Big Bash League.

Richardson was on fire in his return, taking 3 for 5 off his 4 overs before being forced from the field. The match saw Fremantle pick up an easy win over Wanneroo Wan after Ashton Turner picked up two wickets, and Shaun Marsh scored 60 off 74 balls in a chase of 152.

The injury saw Richardson miss the Perth Scorchers' push to the BBL finals, having been one of the top wicket-takers in the competition up until his injury.

The injury is the latest setback in a continually frustrating string of problems for Richardson, who has struggled to stay on the field in recent times.

No timeframe on his return has been set yet, but he will miss not only the three-match ODI series, but the one-day final as well. It's understood his summer is likely to be over, with the next chance to play coming in winter T20 tournaments overseas.

Ellis, who is currently playing for Tasmania, has played three ODIs to date, taking three wickets, but he bowled well on challenging wickets in Pakistan during a series there in 2022.

He has also played five T20 internationals for Australia, where he has taken 15 wickets at an average of 8.53, and has consistently been a standout performer in the Big Bash and One Day Cup in recent seasons.

The ODI series against India kicks off on March 17.

Australia squad: Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Nathan Ellis, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Matt Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson