PERTH, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 07: Alana King of the Scorchers bowls during the Women's Big Bash League match between the Hobart Hurricanes and the Perth Scorchers at the WACA, on November 07, 2021, in Perth, Australia. (Photo by Paul Kane/Getty Images)

Leg-spinner Alana King has bolted into Australia's 15-player squad for the upcoming Women's Ashes series, which is due to begin on January 20.

King, a key part of the Perth Scorcher's WBBL triumph this season, is on the cusp of an international debut as she edges out fellow leg-spinner Amanda-Jade Wellington for selection.

Further absences from Georgia Wareham and Sophie Molineux forced selectors to make a huge call.


Wellington topped the wicket-taking charts in the WBBL with 23 wickets, including the best ever WBBL return of 5/8 in a final.

But King's 16 wickets at 18.25 and an economy of 5.84 this WBBL has been favoured by selectors.

National selector Shawn Fegler said King is ready for the international stage after passing a "tough selection process".

“This was a tough selection process with so many players coming off strong WBBL tournaments, but we’re confident we’ve selected a balanced, all-round squad with players who can perform across all three formats,” he said.

“Alana King … (has) a great opportunity to show what she can do at this level.

“Having improved in all facets of her game over the last few seasons, she’s well placed to play an important role in the series."

King is one of three incoming players along with Jess Jonassen and Megan Schutt.


Wareham (ACL) and Molineux (foot) will miss through injury, while there is no room for Maitlan Brown, Stella Campbell, Georgia Redmayne and Molly Strano, who were part of the India squad earlier this season.

The series will commence on January 20 with three Twenty20s at the Adelaide Oval, before a Test Match at Manuka Oval in Canberra and two one-day matches at Junction Oval in Melbourne.

A points system will be used to determine the fate of the multi-format series. The winner of the Test match will receive four points (two points each in the event of a draw. ODI and T20 victories will be rewarded with two points for the winning team.

The Ashes series will be followed by a 10-day quarantine period in New Zealand ahead of the World Cup, which will take place in March.

Australia Ashes squad: Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes (vc), Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Meg Lanning (c), Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck

Jan 20: First T20, Adelaide Oval

Jan 22: Second T20, Adelaide Oval

Jan 23: Third T20, Adelaide Oval

Jan 27-30: Test match, Manuka Oval

Feb 3: First ODI, Manuka Oval

Feb 6: Second ODI, Junction Oval

Feb 8: Third ODI, Junction Oval