Australia's Mitchell Marsh prepares to bowl during day three of the second cricket Test match between New Zealand and Australia at the Hagley Park in Christchurch on February 22, 2016. AFP PHOTO / MARTY MELVILLE / AFP / Marty Melville (Photo credit should read MARTY MELVILLE/AFP/Getty Images)

Australia has named their squad for the Ashes and World Test Championship final, with a trio of players being recalled into the team.

For the first time in four years, Mitchell Marsh will return back to the international test cricket arena. Enduring a string of injuries and poor form, the all-rounder's recall may be a shock to some, considering he has only started bowling again in the current IPL tournament.

Batter Marcus Harris and wicket-keeper batsman Josh Inglis have also been recalled into the side. Missing from the Tour of India is Lance Morris (back injury), spinners Matthew Kuhnemann, Mitchell Swepson and Ashton Agar, and middle-order batter Peter Handscomb.

The squad will include four quicks, with all of them due to play a big part in England.

While the 17-man squad will begin preparation in England in late May, the squad will be cut down to 15 for the World Test Championship Final due to ICC requirements.

"The World Test Championship is the culmination of more than two years of consistent performance at Test level by the team and the individuals involved, leading into an Ashes series which is always highly anticipated," Chair of Selectors George Bailey said.

"The UK is a very different assignment from our most recent tour of India and some of the changes are based upon the conditions we are anticipating."

“Marcus, Josh and Mitch return to the squad and provide valuable depth and flexibility within their respective skillsets."

"We see value in revisiting the squad following the second Ashes Test given the short turnaround between the WTC final and the first Ashes Test, along with the length of the tour."

Full Squad:

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, David Warner