BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 07: Cameron Green of Australia speaks with Pat Cummins during game two of the T20 International Series between Australia and the West Indies at The Gabba on October 07, 2022 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Matt Roberts/Getty Images)

Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell and Jhye Richardson are the headline returning names in Australia's 16-man squad to play India in a three-match ODI series during March.

The series, which immediately follows the four-Test series for the Border-Gavaskar series, will be like gold for both sides as the increasingly limited number of ODIs sees preparations throws questions over the World Cup, also to be held in India during October and November.

Marsh and Maxwell have both spent time on the sidelines injured for Australia, and their returns are joined by that of star quick Jhye Richardson.

It has also been revealed that David Warner and Ashton Agar, who have recently returned from India ahead of the final two Tests, will rejoin the squad for the 50-over set up.

Pat Cummins, who captains Australia in Test and ODI cricket, is also part of the squad. He has rushed home between the second and third Test against India, but all reports suggest he doesn't plan to miss any cricket.

"With the World Cup just over seven months away, these matches in India are an important step in our preparation," Selection chief George Bailey revealed.

"Glenn, Mitchell and Jhye are all important players in what we think the squad might look like come October."

Josh Hazlewood has been left out of the squad as the other player who has returned home after suffering an injury.

Australia's ODI squad to play India

Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Series fixtures

March 17: First ODI, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, 7pm AEDT (D/N)
March 19: Second ODI, Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy Stadium, Vizag, 7pm AEDT (D/N)
March 22: Third ODI, MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai, 7pm AEDT (D/N)