ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 07: Alex Carey of the SA Redbacks bats during day three of the Sheffield Shield match between South Australia and New South Wales at Adelaide Oval on December 7, 2016 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Morne de Klerk/Getty Images)

Australia has named its two squads for the upcoming Test Series against South Africa and the T20 tour of New Zealand.

Middle-order batsman Matthew Wade is the only casualty from Australia's series defeat to India for the 19-man squad, with five uncapped players named for next month's series in South Africa.

South Australian wicketkeeper/batsman Alex Carey has been given the nod for the tour along with Queensland pace bowler Mark Steketee, while Sean Abbott, Mitchell Swepson and Michael Neser retain their places in the squad.

Wade's departure opens up a vacancy in Justin Langer's batting order, with the Tasmanian being selected as vice-captain for the nation's T20 tour of New Zealand.

Carey stands a strong chance to claim a position in the XI, while fellow South Australian Travis Head will be strongly considered for the spot.

Australia Test squad for Qantas Tour of South Africa: Tim Paine (c), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

"When presented with the challenging task of selecting two concurrent Australian men’s squads for overseas tours, we picked our first-choice Test squad given the importance of the proposed series against South Africa," head selector Trevor Hohns said, per 

"The squad is quite similar to that selected for the final two Tests of the recently-completed Border-Gavaskar series, with the exception of Matt Wade, who will join the Australian men’s T20I squad in New Zealand, and the addition of Alex Carey, who has been in strong form with both bat and gloves.

"It is testament to the depth of Australian cricket that the NSP (National Selection Panel) has been able to select two Australian men's international squads of such quality."

Australia will take three uncapped players across the Tasman to face New Zealand, with Sydney Thunder spinner Tanveer Sangha, Sixers wicketkeeper/batsman Josh Philippe and Hobart fast bowler Riley Meredith named in the 18-man side.

Perth pace bowler Jhye Richardson has been named for the tour despite being a strong contender to join teammates in South Africa for the Test Series.

Australia incumbent opener Aaron Finch will hold his captaincy of the T20 side despite a lacklustre Big Bash campaign.

Australia T20 squad for Qantas Tour of New Zealand: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Kane Richardson, Jhye Richardson, Daniel Sams, Tanveer Sangha, D'Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa