Jason Behrendorff ripped through the Indian top order on his way to help Australia salvage some pride from their dismal Indian tour.

The Australians won by eight wickets to level the three-match T20 series at 1-1.

Stand-in captain David Warner won the toss and chose to field with the decision proving to be the right one early in India’s innings.

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli and Manish Pandey were dismissed for a combined 16 runs as India slumped to 4-27.

But they steadied thanks to Kedar Jadhav who scored a run-a-ball 27, MS Dhoni who mustered 13 off 16 and Hardik Pandya who scored 25 off 23.

Despite this, India struggled to get any rhythm going losing wickets with alarming regularity as they battled to set a decent total.

India did well to bat out their overs but still finished their innings all-out as Jasprit Bumrah was run out on the final ball as they looked to squeeze as many runs as possible.

Only four Indian batsmen and the extras column reached double figures.

But it wasn’t all smooth sailing for Australia’s run chase.

Warner and opening partner Aaron Finch were dismissed for two and eight runs respectively as Australia’s tour demons looked to be re-emerging.

But Moises Henriques and Travis Head were determined to see Australia over the line, crunching India’s bowlers around the park, both finishing not out.

Henriques scored 62 of 46 in an innings which included four monster sixes to fall just short of taking man of the match honours.

He was joined by Head who was left stranded on the cusp of his maiden T20I half-century with 48 runs off 34 balls.

Australia dominated the match, closing out the game with 28 balls to spare.

Behrendorff was named man of the match with figures of 4-21 in an incredible bowling performance which included a remarkable 17 dot balls.

The third and final T20 match of the series will be played on Friday.

It will be Australia’s final match before the much anticipated Ashes series begins on November 23.