PERTH, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 07: Kagiso Rabada of South Africa reacts after a delivery during day five of the First Test match between Australia and South Africa at the WACA on November 7, 2016 in Perth, Australia. (Photo by Paul Kane/Getty Images)

Pat Cummins has won the toss for the first Test of the Australia-South Africa series, opting to bowl first in Brisbane.

The current state of the Gabba pitch is a welcoming one for bowlers, likely giving Australia an advantage on the opening day of the Test.

South Africa captain Dean Elgar revealed he was strongly considering batting first should he have won the toss.

Australia confirmed their XI on Friday, with captain Pat Cummins returning from a quad injury that kept him out of his side's second Test against the West Indies last week.

His return sees paceman Michael Neser fall out of the side, with Scott Boland retaining his place in the bowling attack while Steve Smith returns to his role as Cummins' right-hand man after captaining the Aussies against the West Indies in Adelaide.

South Africa have named a strong outfit for their return down under, with Elgar to open with Sarel Erwee.

The Test is scheduled to commence at 11:20 (AEDT).

Australia XI:
David Warner
Usman Khawaja
Marnus Labuschagne
Steve Smith
Travis Head
Cameron Green
Alex Carey (wk)
Pat Cummins (c)
Mitchell Starc
Nathan Lyon
Scott Boland

South Africa XI:
Dean Elgar (c)
Sarel Erwee
Rassie van der Dussen
Temba Bavuma
Khaya Zondo
Kyle Verreynne (wk)
Marco Jansen
Keshav Maharaj
Kagiso Rabada
Anrich Nortje
Lungi Ngidi.