MIRPUR, BANGLADESH - AUGUST 30: Shakib Al Hasan of Bangladesh celebrates taking the wicket of Glenn Maxwell of Australia during day four of the First Test match between Bangladesh and Australia at Shere Bangla National Stadium on August 30, 2017 in Mirpur, Bangladesh. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Bangladesh have dropped Mahmudullah from their 15-man squad ahead of the T20 World Cup, alongside recalling key players Litton Das, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Hasan Mahmud and Najmul Hossain Shanto.

Das was not part of the recently concluded Asia Cup after sustaining a hamstring injury, while Nurul has healed from finger surgery.

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) president Nazmul Hossain labelled the decision to drop Mahmudullah, the fourth most-capped T20I cricketer in the world, as part of plans to build a "team for the future" for the 2024 World Cup and beyond.

The side will be boosted by crucial batting returns from Das, Yasir and Nurul, while Mahmud's return should boost the fast-bowling attack, which also houses Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed and Ebadot Hossain.

Among those missing out are Parvez Hossain Emon, Anamul Haque, Mahedi Hasan and Mohammad Naim, all of whom featured in the Asia Cup squad.

Minhajul Abedin, BCB selection chief, said Mahmudullah's axing didn't accord with the team's plan outlined by head coach and technical consultant Sridharan Sriram.

"Our T20 consultant [Sriram] has given us a one-year plan, which will take us in a different direction, and we have agreed with him," Abedin said.

"We haven't been doing well in T20Is. We have also had to deal with plenty of injuries in the last six months. The decision to drop Mahmudullah was taken after speaking to everyone concerned.

Mahmudllah's absence will also be amplified by Mushfiqur Rahim's recent retirement, leaving the Tigers without two of their most experienced middle-order batters.

Bangladesh begin their T20 World Cup campaign on October 24 in Hobart.

Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Afif Hossain, Mossadek Hossain, Litton Das, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Najmul Hossain, Nasum Ahmed.

Standby players: Soumya Sarkar, Shoriful Islam, Rishad Hossain, Shak Mahedi Hasan.