BBL - Heat v Strikers
BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 12: Rashid Khan of the Strikers celebrates taking the wicket of Mujeeb Ur Rahman of the Heat during the Men's Big Bash League match between the Brisbane Heat and the Adelaide Strikers at The Gabba, on January 12, 2022, in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images)
BBL - Heat v Strikers

Cricket Australia have confirmed the top 12 players for the inaugural BBL draft.

The draft, which is a first this season as the BBL attempts to grapple with a number of leagues around the world being played in the same time slot and dwindling interest domestically, will see all eight clubs able to draft four players across four rounds.

The rules for the draft mean that the platinum selection of players are the only ones who are able to be picked in the first round, with the remaining four platinum players then available for selection in the second round alongside gold tier players.

Gold and silver players are then eligible for selection in Round 3, while silver and bronze players are eligible in Round 4.

The list is headlined by the BBL's first nomination and former South African captain Faf du Plessis, although it's unclear if he will play the full tournament given the domestic South African league that kicks off in January.

Rashid Khan is another entrant unlikely to play the full tournament after declaring overseas, while West Indies duo Andre Russell and Kieron Pollard are in the same boat.

Trent Boult - who was recently released from his central New Zealand central contract to play T20 leagues - is also among the top pool of players.

The status of all 279 nominated players as well as their tiers will be confirmed this week ahead of Sunday night's draft, to be held after the first ODI between Australia and Zimbabwe in Townsville.

Platinum players list for BBL draft

Faf du Plessis (South Africa)
Jason Roy (England)
Liam Livingstone (England)
Sam Billings (England)
Kieron Pollard (West Indies)
Andre Russell (West Indies)
David Willey (England)
Shadab Khan (Pakistan)
Dwayne Bravo (West Indies)
Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)
Chris Jordan (England)
Trent Boult (New Zealand)

BBL draft order

Round 1
1. Melbourne Renegades
2. Melbourne Stars
3. Brisbane Heat
4. Sydney Sixers
5. Adelaide Strikers
6. Perth Scorchers
7. Sydney Thunder
8. Hobart Hurricanes

Round 2
9. Melbourne Renegades
10. Melbourne Stars
11. Brisbane Heat
12. Sydney Sixers
13. Adelaide Strikers
14. Perth Scorchers
15. Sydney Thunder
16. Hobart Hurricanes

Round 3
17. Hobart Hurricanes
18. Sydney Thunder
19. Perth Scorchers
20. Adelaide Strikers
21. Sydney Sixers
22. Brisbane Heat
23. Melbourne Stars
24. Melbourne Renegades

Round 4
25. Melbourne Renegades
26. Melbourne Stars
27. Brisbane Heat
28. Sydney Sixers
29. Adelaide Strikers
30. Perth Scorchers
31. Sydney Thunder
32. Hobart Hurricanes