GOLD COAST, AUSTRALIA - JULY 18: Brisbane Heat WBBL and BBL players (L-R) Sammy-Jo Johnson, Matthew Renshaw, Melbourne Stars BBL player, Glenn Maxwell, Ben Cutting andÊJess Jonassen poseÊduring the Big Bash League Fixture Announcement at Metricon Stadium on July 18, 2018 in Gold Coast, Australia. (Photo by Chris Hyde/Getty Images)

Cricket Australia have released the fixture for this Summer’s Big Bash League which will be the biggest BBL yet.

There will be a total of 59 matches, including finals, and each team is set to play each other twice with the Brisbane Heat and Adelaide Strikers kicking off the season on the 19th of December at The Gabba.

The broadcast will be split between Channel Seven and Fox Sports with 16 matches set to be exclusive to the pay TV network.

For the first time ever, we will have a BBL match played on Christmas Eve as well as a match played simultaneously with an international day-night Test match between Australia and Sri Lanka.

There will also be Big Bash games played in Alice Springs at Traeger Park and on the Gold Coast at Metricon Stadium.

“The objective of moving the BBL to a full home and away fixture is consistent with Cricket Australia’s strategy of growing the Big Bash and becoming number one for fans across Australia,” head of the Big Bash League, Kim McConnie, said.

“With more games, in more locations, we believe this is going to be one of the most exciting, action-packed BBL seasons to-date.

“This summer, there will be 56 regular season matches, up from 40 last season, meaning each of the eight teams will play each other twice in addition to the two semi-finals and the final.

“The season will extend past school holidays, so as the competition moves into February, there will be more family-friendly timeslots on weekends to help drive participation.

“The new landmark broadcast partnership we have with Fox Sports and Seven West Media will enable us to broadcast more BBL matches than ever before.

“Fox Sports will broadcast all 59 matches, including 16 matches exclusively, while Seven will broadcast 43 matches across the season.”

Click here for the full BBL08 fixture