BBL - Adelaide Strikers v Perth Scorchers
ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 20: Aaron Hardie of the Scorchers and Alex Carey of the Strikers during the Men's Big Bash League match between the Adelaide Strikers and the Perth Scorchers at Adelaide Oval, on January 20, 2023, in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Sarah Reed/Getty Images)
BBL - Adelaide Strikers v Perth Scorchers

Sydney Sixers star Steve Smith has landed a spot in the BBL|12 Team of the Tournament despite featuring in just four matches for his franchise.

The Australian batsman returned to the magenta for their final few regular season games and their first final to post 346 runs at an average of 86.50, a stint that included two centuries.

The veteran clean-hitter amassed maximum votes from the league's coaches, being one of four players to do so.

Adelaide Strikers all-rounder and Player of the Tournament Matt Short joins Smith atop the batting order with eight votes to his name, while Perth Scorchers top-order batsman Aaron Hardie and Sixers paceman Sean Abbott also received votes from all eight coaches.

The Scorchers lead the 12-man squad with three selections, with Hardie, Josh Inglis and  Andrew Tye all featuring in the side.

Hurricanes pair Tim David and Paddy Dooley, Renages duo Aaron Finch and Tom Rogers and Heat bowler Michael Neser round out the side, while Adelaide recruit Chris Lynn has been named as the 12th man.

The Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Stars have not been represented in the 12-man side.

BBL|12 Team of the Tournament (As voted by coaches)

1. Matt Short (Strikers) – 8 votes

2. Steve Smith (Sixers) – 8 votes

3. Aaron Hardie (Scorchers) – 8 votes

4. Aaron Finch (c) (Renegades) – 6 votes

5. Josh Inglis (wk) (Scorchers) – 7 votes

6. Tim David (Hurricanes) – 5 votes

7. Michael Neser (Heat) – 5 votes

8. Sean Abbott (Sixers) – 8 votes

9. Andrew Tye (Scorchers) – 5 votes

10. Tom Rogers (Renegades) – 6 votes

11. Paddy Dooley (Hurricanes) – 5 votes

12th. Chris Lynn (Strikers) – 3 votes