ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 20: Aaron Finch, David Warner and Steve Smith of Australia sing the national anthem during the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup match between Australian and Pakistan at Adelaide Oval on March 20, 2015 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

Marnus Labuschagne is the surprise omission from the first ODI against Zimbabwe, to be played in Townsville on Sunday.

Australian captain Aaron Finch confirmed the XI on Saturday after the team's final practice session ahead of the first in a three-match series to open the summer during the final days of winter.

Instead of Labuschagne, Australia will have bowling options galore, with Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell and Cameron Green all named, alongside Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa and Josh Hazlewood as the three specialist bowlers.

Only naming three bowlers comes with Pat Cummins sidelined, although both Sean Abbott and Ashton Agar will be forced to watch the opening match of the summer from the sidelines alongside Labuschagne.

Finch also confirmed a change in the batting order, with Steve Smith moving to number three while Alex Carey comes up to number four, and Mitchell Marsh moves down to number six, having batted at three during Australia's most recent 50-over assignment in Sri Lanka.

"The reasoning behind Marnus is we're just going with an allrounder-heavy side," Finch told reporters on Saturday.

"Two quicks plus Zampa, and Cameron Green as the fourth genuine bowler. And then using Marsh, Stoinis, Maxwell as our fifth bowler effectively.

"It's a way of lengthening our batting, and I think it's important we keep trying to juggle the structure of the team around a little bit over the next little while.

"We don't want to get pigeonholed into playing in one particular structure of team."

Zimbabwe are yet to confirm their XI, having given India a scare in their most recent limited overs fixtures.

Australia XI for first ODI vs Zimbabwe

1. Aaron Finch (c)
2. David Warner
3. Steve Smith
4. Alex Carey (wk)
5. Marcus Stoinis
6. Mitchell Marsh
7. Glenn Maxwell
8. Cameron Green
9. Mitchell Starc
10. Adam Zampa
11. Josh Hazlewood