BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 08: Mitchell Starc of Australia celebrates dismissing Rory Burns of England during day one of the First Test Match in the Ashes series between Australia and England at The Gabba on December 08, 2021 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Chris Hyde/Getty Images)

Australia and England have confirmed their XIs for the second Test of the Ashes series in Adelaide.

Steve Smith, in his return Test as captain, won the toss and elected to bat first on a flat looking Adelaide wicket. Joe Root said he would have batted first as well.

It has been a chaotic morning for Australia, with Pat Cummins ruled out. He is being forced to isolate by South Australian health after being ruled a close contact to a positive COVID test.

Mitchell Starc and Nathan Lyon were ruled casual contacts having been at the same location as Cummins, but eating outside.

It means Michael Neser will finally make his Test debut for the Australians, while Josh Hazlewood is also out with a side strain, being replaced by Jhye Richardson.

David Warner has also passed his fitness test and will play after suffering bruised ribs in Brisbane during the first innings against England.

England, on the other hand, have elected to play four pace bowlers, with Jack Leach missing out on the side.

It will make Root, who is a part-timer, England's only spin bowler, with Stuart Broad and James Anderson playing alongside Ollie Robinson and Chris Woakes in the side.

Mark Wood is the other player to miss out from Brisbane.

Play starts at 3pm (AEDT).


1. David Warner
2. Marcus Harris
3. Marnus Labuschagne
4. Steve Smith (c)
5. Travis Head (vc)
6. Cameron Green
7. Alex Carey (wk)
8. Mitchell Starc
9. Michael Neser
10. Jhye Richardson
11. Nathan Lyon


1. Rory Burns
2. Haseeb Hameed
3. Dawid Malan
4. Joe Root (c)
5. Ollie Pope
6. Ben Stokes
7. Jos Buttler (wk)
8. Chris Woakes
9. Ollie Robinson
10. James Anderson
11. Stuart Broad