CHRISTCHURCH, NEW ZEALAND - FEBRUARY 21: Steve Smith of Australia is congratulated by Joe Burns of Australia after reaching his century during day two of the Test match between New Zealand and Australia at Hagley Oval on February 21, 2016 in Christchurch, New Zealand. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

Australia captain Steve Smith has been sanctioned by the International Cricket Council for his exchange with on-field umpire Ranmore Martinesz in the second Test in Christchurch.

Smith pleaded guilty to a charge of dissent handed down by the ICC following the heated incident in the seven-wicket win at Hagley Oval. Full details of Smith's sanction are yet to be confirmed by the ICC.

The incident happened in the final over before lunch on day four when third umpire Richard Illingworth confirmed Martinesz's not out ruling to an lbw appeal against Black Caps batsman Kane Williamson.