during game three of the One Day International series between New Zealand and Australia at Seddon Park on February 5, 2017 in Hamilton, New Zealand.

Tomorrow night Australia will kick-off its ICC Champions Trophy campaign against Trans-Tasman rivals New Zealand.

Playing at Edgbaston, both sides will be looking to get off to a good start to the tournament.

Australia will head in to this game as favourites and have performed relatively well in the lead up to this game.

It is likely that they will play a four-pronged pace attack. The selectors have been waiting for an opportunity to select Starc, Hazelwood, Cummins and Pattinson in the same side and now it has arisen.

Steve Smith will have still some spin options, with Travis Head and Glenn Maxwell expected to be named in side for the opening match. Although in the past, the Australian captain has been hesitant to bowl the latter of the two.

New Zealand come into this game having split their two warm-up games. Martin Guptill notched a brilliant hundred against Sri Lanka, while former Australian cricketer Luke Ronchi was the lone shining light with the bat against India, making 66 of 63 balls.

There is great pressure on both Trent Boult and Tim Southee to perform with the ball, as no other New Zealand bowler has put their hand-up as a genuine wicket-taker.

Australia should win this game. Finch loves playing in England and Smith continues to be the world’s best batsman. They have a lot of firepower down the order and should be able to produce match-winning scores. The swinging ball can unravel an Australian batting line-up, however, hopefully they will be up to the task.

The key wickets will be Guptill and Williamson. If the Aussie bowlers can remove those two relatively cheaply, they will be well on the way to winning the game. If they decide to go with it, the four pace-men attack may appear as a big risk, however, there is enough variety not only in those bowlers but also across the team.


Australia: Warner, Finch, Smith, Head, Maxwell, Stoinis, Wade, Starc, Cummins, Pattinson, Hazlewood.

New Zealand: Guptill, Latham, Williamson, Taylor, Broom, Ronchi, Anderson, Santner, Milne, Southee, Boult.