Channel Nine commentators Mark Nicholas, Shane Warne and Mark Taylor during day four of the First Ashes Test match between Australia and England at The Gabba on November 24, 2013 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

Channel Nine has announced its commentary team for the upcoming Test matches against South Africa and Pakistan this summer.

Regulars Mark Nicholas, Mark Taylor, Shane Warne, Ian Chappell, Michael Slater and Ian Healy have all retained thier spots, while former Australian captain Michael Clarke and Kevin Pietersen will also join the team.

However, there are three noticeable absentees from last year.

Former Australian fast bowler Brett Lee, who been part of the team for the past few years, will not return to the commentary box this year due to family and business commitments.

Mike Hussey will also not return and instead be part of Cricket Australia's digital online content, while James Brayshaw is also a notable omission, amid speculation he could join Channel Seven as part of the network's AFL commentary team in 2017.

However, Pietersen is expected to miss the Test series against Pakistan due to his commitments with the Melbourne Stars in the Big Bash.