JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA - APRIL 03: Captain Tim Paine of Australia during day 5 of the 4th Sunfoil Test match between South Africa and Australia at Bidvest Wanderers Stadium on April 03, 2018 in Johannesburg, South Africa. (Photo by Sydney Seshibedi/Gallo Images)

Cricket Australia have announced the ODI and T20 squads that will be participate in the country’s upcoming tours of England and Zimbabwe, led by skipper Tim Paine and vice-captain Aaron Finch.

The new-look team will be refreshing after the Test series turmoil in South Africa.

As Australia gear up and prepare for the ICC 2019 Cricket World Cup, squad selectors have opted to give the team a chance to warm up to one another and get comfortable in the ODI and T20 tournaments.

“We have selected a 15-player squad as we push forward in our preparations for the ICC Cricket World Cup in England in 2019,” National Selector Trevor Hohns told

“Obviously, these are the conditions we will face during the tournament so now is a perfect chance to give these players an opportunity to press their case for selection.”

Hohns endorsed the team’s new captain Tim Paine, stepping into the role after a controversial few months for Australian cricket, stressing that he is the right man for the job right now.

“Tim is a strong leader and will captain the side for this series, supported by Aaron [Finch],” he explained.

“A decision on a permanent one-day captain will be made in due course.”

One Day International squad

Tim Paine (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Josh Hazlewood,Travis Head, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye

T20 International squad

Aaron Finch (c), Alex Carey (vc), Ashton Agar, Travis Head, Nic Maddinson, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Jack Wildermuth