Sheffield Shield - VIC v NSW: Day 4
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 04: Todd Murphy of Victoria prepares to bowl during the Sheffield Shield match between Victoria and New South Wales at CitiPower Centre, on December 04, 2022, in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Morgan Hancock/Getty Images)
Sheffield Shield - VIC v NSW: Day 4

Cricket Australia have confirmed their list of contracted players for the 2023-24 summer.

Todd Murphy, Lance Morris, Michael Neser, Marcus Harris, Josh Inglis and Jhye Richardson are the new faces on what is an expanded 24-player list, announced by Cricket Australia on Thursday.

Aaron Finch is the biggest name to drop off the list after his retirement from international cricket, while Matthew Wade and Mitch Swepson have also missed out.

Matthew Kuhnemann, Peter Handscomb and Matt Renshaw have also all missed out despite impressive performances during Australia's tour of India this year.

The selectors went with a 24-man group noting the busy workload in the coming months, which will feature six Tests in England this winter, an ODI World Cup in India, the home summer, and a T20 World Cup in the USA and West Indies all within this contract period.

"We have chosen a group of players we expect will form the majority of those (WTC, Ashes and ODI World Cup) campaigns and we know that we will need a squad mentality to achieve success," national selection panel chairman George Bailey said.

"As we find each year now, there is a lot of cricket in the next six to 12 months and our depth will be tested.

"The six Test matches during the winter are in relatively short succession and we have a busy period of white ball cricket leading up to, and post, the ODI World Cup.

"The NSP support and endorse the change to the MOU agreement which allows further scope for additional contracts which in turn creates additional depth to call on in the next period, as well as retaining the ability to utilise others from outside of this list."

Financially, men's contracts are up 7.5 per cent, with the average retainer sitting at $951,000 before match payments, and the minimum being $367,000 before payments.

Australia's next commitment is the World Test Championship final against India in London during early June.

Cricket Australia men's contract list 2023-24

Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa