Cricket ball

Peter Siddle will be the 12th man for the first Test against New Zealand starting on Thursday at the Gabba.

It had been widely tipped that either Josh Hazlewood or Peter Siddle would be the unlucky man to miss out.

This means that the three pace bowlers will be Johnson, Starc and Hazlewood, with Lyon the spin option.

First test XI: Warner (vc), Burns, Khawaja, Smith (c), Voges, M Marsh, Nevill, Johnson, Starc, Hazlewood, Lyon.