Martin Guptill of New Zealand walks off after being dismissed during the one-day international (ODI) cricket match between New Zealand and Australia at Eden Park in Auckland on January 30, 2017. / AFP / MICHAEL BRADLEY (Photo credit should read MICHAEL BRADLEY/AFP/Getty Images)

New Zealand veteran opening batsman Martin Guptill is set for his seventh T20 World Cup, the most of any player in any format of the game.

There are few surprises in Kane Williamson's side, with only Finn Allen and Michael Bracewell - who both play for the Wellington Firebirds in the domestic Super Smash competition - added to last year's World Cup squad.

Both Allen and Bracewell were recently upgraded to national central contracts following Trent Boult and Jimmy Neesham opting out, alongside the retirement of Colin de Grandhomme.

Boult and Neesham are both among the 15-man squad who will travel to Australia for the tournament, with the Black Caps set to use the same squad during their final preparation matches, a home tri-series against Pakistan and Bangladesh to be played at Hagley Oval.

Kyle Jamieson, Todd Astle and Tim Seifert are missing out of the squad who played last year's World Cup in the United Arab Emirates, while Adam Milne also retains his place in the squad after being called in as an injury replacement for Lockie Ferguson who has been named for the trip to Australia.

New Zealand head coach Gary Stead said the New Zealand side have a strong squad for the tournament.

“It’s always a special time announcing a World Cup squad and I’d like to congratulate the 15 players selected today.” he said.

“It’s especially exciting for Finn and Michael who are set for their first ICC events, while Martin Guptill is preparing for his 7th T20 World Cup - which in itself is an incredible achievement.

“It’s great to have this tournament so soon after last year’s event in which we played some really good cricket, but couldn’t quite get over the line at the end.

“With the nucleus of that squad retained along with the exciting additions of Finn and Michael, we should go into the tournament with plenty of optimism.”

New Zealand are grouped alongside Australia, Afghanistan and England alongside two yet to be determined qualifiers for the World Cup.

New Zealand squad

Kane Williamson (c)
Finn Allen
Trent Boult
Michael Bracewell
Mark Chapman
Devon Conway (wk)
Lockie Ferguson
Martin Guptill
Adam Milne
Daryl Mitchell
Jimmy Neesham
Glenn Phillips
Mitchell Santner
Ish Sodhi
Tim Southee