BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 25: Steve Smith of Australia celebrates after reaching his century during day three of the First Test Match of the 2017/18 Ashes Series between Australia and England at The Gabba on November 25, 2017 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has shortlisted seven players for their Test Player of the Decade award.

The seven players listed are four batsmen and three bowlers, with Australia’s Steve Smith the only Aussie to be named.

Other nominees include India’s Virat Kohli, New Zealand’s Kane Williamson, England’s Joe Root and Jimmy Anderson, Pakistan’s Yasir Shah and Sri Lanka’s Rangana Herath.

Smith is regarded as the number one batsman in the world by ICC rankings as speculations begin to rise that he is the favourite to take out the award.

The former Australian captain has made 26 Test centuries and has scored over 8000 test runs.

Kohli, Root and Williamson have been their respective country’s star batsman for the majority of the decade as well, all breaking 6000 runs, Kohli over 8000.

Anderson recently became the first bowler to reach 600 Test wickets.

Shah and Herath have been the dominant bowlers for Pakistan and Sri Lanka for a long period of time.

As for the ICC Women’s Player of the Decade award, two of our Aussie golden girls have been nominated, with Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry shining bright for Australia.

Lanning and Perry have been nominated alongside, New Zealand’s Susie Bates, India’s Mithali Raj, England’s Sarah Taylor and West Indies player Stefanie Taylor.

The winners of the award will be announced on December 18.

The full list of nominees and awards are below.