SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 06: Usman Khawaja of Australia celebrates his century during day two of the Fourth Test Match in the Ashes series between Australia and England at Sydney Cricket Ground on January 06, 2022 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

The ICC has named its best Test XI for 2022 with a name of experienced players headlining the list.

Four Australians were selected for their outstanding achievements on the cricket field, including Captain Pat Cummins, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, and Nathan Lyon.

Khawaja, who is in the best form of his batting career, finished 2022 scoring 1080 runs at an average of 67.50. He'd be one of the side's most important architects in the famous series win in Pakistan scoring 496 runs, including two centuries.

Labuschagne had another excellent year with the bat, scoring 957 runs at 56.29. He also scored a crafty 104 in Sri Lanka on a spinner's pitch, carrying on the form into the Test summer against the West Indies and South Africa.

There he took apart the West Indian bowling attack with ease, scoring 502 runs, featuring a double-century in Perth.

Skipper Pat Cummins put together an excellent year, finishing with 36 wickets at an impressive average of 21.83. The fast bowler was in his element and none more so in Australia's series win over Pakistan away from home.

In the third and final Test, Cummins tore through the Pakistan middle-order en route to figures of 5/56, finishing the Test with eight wickets.

Australian bowler Pat Cummins reaches for the ball on the second day of the fourth Test cricket match between South Africa and Australia won by South Africa at Wanderers cricket ground on March 31, 2018 in Johannesburg, South Africa. / AFP PHOTO / GIANLUIGI GUERCIA (Photo credit should read GIANLUIGI GUERCIA/AFP/Getty Images)

Cummins celebrated a milestone along the way by taking his 200th test wicket during the opening test in Perth against the West Indies.

Nathan Lyon also had a great 2022 finishing with 47 wickets despite having a heavy bowling load bestowed upon his shoulders. His rewards saw him finish the year tied with South African tearaway quick Kagiso Rabada for the most wickets in the year.

The other players part of the ICC Men's Test team of the Year include West Indian opener Kraigg Brathwaite, classy Pakistan batsman Babar Azam, Indian wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant, South Africa's Rabada and English players Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow and ageless quick James Anderson.

ICC Test Team of the Year

  1. Usman KhawajaAustralia
  2. Kraigg Brathwaite – West Indies
  3. Marnus LabuschagneAustralia
  4. Babar Azam – Pakistan
  5. Jonny Bairstow – England
  6. Ben Stokes – England
  7. Rishabh Pant – India
  8. Pat CumminsAustralia
  9. Kagiso Rabada – South Africa
  10. Nathan LyonAustralia
  11. James Anderson – England