BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 18: Mitchell Starc of Australia celebrates taking the wicket of Azhar Ali of Pakistan during day four of the First Test match between Australia and Pakistan at The Gabba on December 18, 2016 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images)

Australian captain Steve Smith has been overlooked by the ICC in the Test team of the year, despite another brilliant season with the bat.

However, three fellow Aussies have been named in the side, in Dave Warner, Mitchell Starc and Adam Voges, while Smith has been named 12th man.

England captain Alastair Cook has been named captain of the side.

The qualification period is strangely not the calendar year, but instead between the 14th of September 2015 and the 20th of September 2016.

The ICC’s selection panel consists of Rahul Dravid, Kumar Sangakkara and Gary Kirsten.

ICC Test team of 2016: David Warner (Australia), Alastair Cook (England, captain), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Joe Root (England), Adam Voges (Australia), Jonny Bairstow (England), Ben Stokes (England), Ravichandran Ashwin (India), Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Steve Smith (Australia, 12th)