SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 04: Usman Khawaja of Australia and Marcus Harris of Australia leave the field at the end of play during day two of the Fourth Test match in the series between Australia and India at Sydney Cricket Ground on January 04, 2019 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

India and Australia are set to expand the length of the Border-Gavaskar trophy in the next future tours program, with all future Test series between the two nations to be five Tests.

Up until now, series between the two nations have been four matches, with India and Australia fast becoming one of cricket's biggest rivalries.

Few series have been played over a five-Test duration in world cricket over the years, although India have done it against England and South Africa in recent times.

While the next iteration of the series - to be played in February and March of the 2023 calendar year - will remain at four Tests, before Australia travel to England for the five-Test Ashes series, the next two series on the future tours program set to be released soon by the ICC will be five Tests.

According to Cricinfo who have sighted the document, the first series between the two nations on the program will be held in the Australian 2024-25 summer, before Australia tour India for another five Tests at the completion of their 2026-27 home summer, making the trip to India in February and March of that year.

It will also mean there will be a full four years between Test tours of the sub-continent nation for Australia, unless there are late changes between draft and publication stage from the ICC.

The document needs to be approved by all world cricketing bodies and nations.

It's understood India's only other five-Test series will come against England, with no other nations to be involved in five matches of red ball cricket in a bilateral series.

It's also reported that Australia are set to play 41 Tests during the duration of the future tours program, one less than England, who will play the most with 42.