India's captain Virat Kohli (C) celebrates with teammates. PUNIT PARANJPE/AFP/Getty Images

India has officially announced a 17-player test squad that will compete in a home series against Australia that begins in February.

The announcement of the squad confirmed that India will be without bowler Jasprit Bumrah and wicketkeeper Rishbah Pant, while two players have been called-up to face Austalia.

The Indian selectors have called-up Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishnan. Yadav is primarily known in the limited-over format where he is an explosive and innovator batter.

While Kishnan will play as a back-up wicketkeeper to KS Bharat. As the first-choice keeper Rishbah Pant is injured, either Kishnan or Bharat have a chance of appearing in the two test matches.

India is known for making pitches that suit spin bowlers. With this is mind India have decided upon Ravi Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel to represent them.

Whenever a test squad is named there is always a large debate surrounding why some players didn't get picked. This time it was 25-year-old Indian batsman Sarfaraz Khan, who has been described as India's answer to Don Bradman.

Khan has easily been the best batter in the Ranji Trophy, India's domestic first-class league. Since 2019/20, he has averaged triple digits with the bat in three of the past four seasons. This includes the current 2022-23 season.

He is currently second on the leaderboard of highest first-class batting averages with 80.47- only behind Donald Bradman.

Former Indian international Aakosh Chopra spoke about Khan's exclusion on his own YouTube channel.

"He has done everything in his powers to be in the Indian team, I am a little disappointed," Chopra said.

While Chopra is one of many former players who are disappointed by Khan not being included in the squad. Khan spoke to The Indian Express about not being selected to face Australia.

"I came from Assam to Delhi the day after the selection, and wasn't able to sleep the whole night," Khan said.

"I kept asking why am I not there? But now after speaking to my father, I'm back to normal. I will never give up practice, I will not go under depression. Don't worry, I will keep trying."

India's 17-man squad
Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravi Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav