Australia v South Africa - First Test: Day 2
BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 18: Australia celebrate a wicket during day two of the First Test match between Australia and South Africa at The Gabba on December 18, 2022 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Albert Perez/Getty Images)
Australia v South Africa - First Test: Day 2

India and Australia are set to renew hostilities for the first time in a little over two years, and for the first time in India since 2016-17 with the Border-Gavaskar Trophy to get underway in Nagpur on Thursday, February 9. This is Zero Wicket's guide to live streaming the first Test, or watching it on TV in Australia.

As mentioned, the Test is due to get underway on Thursday, February 9, with the first ball scheduled for 3pm (AEDT) - that's 10:30am (local time) in Nagpur.

Full hours of play for Australian timezones are included in this article.

The series will see Australia attempt to regain the trophy for the first time since 2014-15, with India not only winning their last home series, but also the last two series in Australia during 2018-19 and 2020-21, with both of those results winding up 2-1 in favour of the tourists.

That's not to say this is likely to be the same for Australia, with India winning 34 of their last 42 Tests at home and not losing a series on home soil since 2013.

How to watch the first India vs Australia Test on TV

In Australia, the Border-Gavaskar series will be shown live and exclusive on Fox Sports through their Fox Cricket channel, which can be found at 501.

To watch the broadcast, you will need an active Foxtel TV subscription, with coverage starting at 2:30pm (AEDT) on each day of play.

How to live stream the first India vs Australia Test online in Australia

If you'd prefer to live stream the first Test in Nagpur from Australia, the best way to do this is through Kayo Sports, which allows you to live stream all of Foxtel's sporting content.

If you already have an active Foxtel TV subscription, you'll be able to use the Foxtel App with valid login details to access the match.

Key information

Dates: Thursday, February 9 - Monday, February 13
Time: 3pm (AEDT)
Venue: Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Jamtha, Nagpur
On-field umpires: Nitin Menon (India) and Richard Illingworth (England)
Third umpire: Michael Gough (England)


Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat, Ishan Kishan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav

Hours of play

AEDT (New South Wales/Victoria/Tasmania/Australian Capital Territory)
First session: 3pm - 5pm
Lunch: 5pm - 5:40pm
Second session: 5:40pm - 7:40pm
Tea: 7:40pm - 8pm
Third session: 8pm - 10pm

ACDT (South Australia)
First session: 2:30pm - 4:30pm
Lunch: 4:30pm - 5:10pm
Second session: 5:10pm - 7:10pm
Tea: 7:10pm - 7:30pm
Third session: 7:30pm - 9:30pm

AEST (Queensland)
First session: 2pm - 4pm
Lunch: 4pm - 4:40pm
Second session: 4:40pm - 6:40pm
Tea: 6:40pm - 7pm
Third session: 7pm - 9pm

ACST (Northern Territory)
First session: 1:30pm - 3:30pm
Lunch: 3:30pm - 4:10pm
Second session: 4:10pm - 6:10pm
Tea: 6:10pm - 6:30pm
Third session: 6:30pm - 8:30pm

AWST (Western Australia)
First session: 12pm - 2pm
Lunch: 2pm - 2:40pm
Second session: 2:40pm - 4:40pm
Tea: 4:40pm - 5pm
Third session: 5pm - 7pm

Play may be extended for 60 minutes due to rain or light conditions, and 30 minutes due to slow over rates. Play may also start early to make up time lost due to weather.