BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 25: Steve Smith of Australia celebrates after reaching his century during day three of the First Test Match of the 2017/18 Ashes Series between Australia and England at The Gabba on November 25, 2017 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

Australia have won the toss and elected to bat at the world's largest cricket stadium ahead of the fourth Test commencing in the Border-Gavaskar series.

The tourists have named a completely unchanged 11 for the fourth and final Test of the series, going in with Travis Head at the top of the order and three spinners to partner Mitchell Starc and Cameron Green once again in the attack.

India have made a single change for the game, with Mohammed Shami returning to the team after being rested for the third Test, replacing Mohammed Siraj.

Umesh Yadav remains in the side, with spin bowling trio Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja all playing again.

Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium - the largest in the world - which has both nation's leaders (Narendra Modi and Anthony Albanese) on the scene for the match, will host the game and has been once again dominated by pitch talk ahead of the game.

Two pitches have been reportedly prepared at the stadium, and players were only allowed onto the ground late in the piece ahead of the toss due to the ceremony featuring Modi and Albanese.

The pitch prepared is another dry one, however, appears as if it will play better than those pitches during the first three Tests, held in Nagpur, Delhi and Indore.

Play will commence at 3pm (AEDT) - 9:30am (local time) on Thursday afternoon, with the final Test of the series to run until Tuesday if all five days are needed.

The teams will then have just two full days off before the first ODI of a three-match series in the 50-over format which commences next Friday, March 17.

Australia (XI)
1. Usman Khawaja
2. Travis Head
3. Marnus Labuschagne
4. Steve Smith (c)
5. Peter Handscomb
6. Cameron Green
7. Alex Carey (wk)
8. Mitchell Starc
9. Nathan Lyon
10. Todd Murphy
11. Matt Kuhnemann

India (XI)
1. Rohit Sharma (c)
2. Shubman Gill
3. Cheteshwar Pujara
4. Virat Kohli
5. Shreyas Iyer
6. KS Bharat (wk)
7. Ravindra Jadeja
8. Ravichandran Ashwin
9. Axar Patel
10. Umesh Yadav
11. Mohammed Shami