BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 08: Mitchell Starc of Australia celebrates dismissing Rory Burns of England during day one of the First Test Match in the Ashes series between Australia and England at The Gabba on December 08, 2021 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Chris Hyde/Getty Images)

Mitchell Starc and Cameron Green will make their return for Australia in the third Test of the Border-Gavaskar trophy, to be played in Indore.

The confirmation of the star duo returning for the third Test of the series comes as stand in captain Steve Smith called tails and lost the toss, with India electing to bat first.

Starc coming in for Cummins is the only change in the bowling attack, with Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy and Matt Kuhnemann remaining in the side.

Green will provide Australia a second pace bowler from number six in the order. He has replaced the injured David Warner in the side, with Travis Head moving to the top of the order.

India, on the other hand, have made two changes, with KL Rahul and Mohammed Shami dropped from the side. In their place, Shubman Gill will bat at the top of the order, with Umesh Yadav coming into the pace bowling attack.

The pitch has been described as similar to Nagpur and Delhi, meaning we are likely to witness another Test dominated by spin bowling. Grass is present in the middle of the pitch, but both ends are threadbare and dry.

Play starts at 3pm (AEDT) - 9am (local) time.

Australia (XI)

1. Usman Khawaja
2. Travis Head
3. Marnus Labuschagne
4. Steve Smith (c)
5. Peter Handscomb
6. Cameron Green
7. Alex Carey (wk)
8. Mitchell Starc
9. Nathan Lyon
10. Todd Murphy
11. Matt Kuhnemann

India (XI)

1. Rohit Sharma (c)
2. Shubman Gill
3. Cheteshwar Pujara
4. Virat Kohli
5. Shreyas Iyer
6. KS Bharat (wk)
7. Ravindra Jadeja
8. Ravichandran Ashwin
9. Axar Patel
10. Umesh Yadav
11. Mohammed Siraj