ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2012 Final - Australia v India
TOWNSVILLE, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 26: Australian players celebrate a wicket during the 2012 ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Final between Australia and India at Tony Ireland Stadium on August 26, 2012 in Townsville, Australia. (Photo by Matt Roberts/Getty Images)
ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2012 Final - Australia v India

The Indigenous women's and men's squads have been announced as they get ready to embark on a historic inaugural tour of Vanuatu in May.

In what will be the first time the national Indigenous squad will travel to the Pacific Islands, it is also their first overseas tour since 2018.

Leading the women's team is Hannah Darlington who has an impressive cricketing resume. This includes captaining both the Sydney Thunder and New South Wales, as well as representing the Australian women's national team, multiple times.

Joining her on the side are two WBBL players - Ella Hayward and Mikayla Hinkley. The former recently took part in the Under 19s World Cup representing Australia.

While Darlington will take the reins as captain for the women's squad, Damon Egan has been given the honour to captain the men's squad.

Egan has continually performed strongly with the bat at the National Championship level in Victoria. The side will also feature Charlie Anderson, who represented Australia in their Under 19s series against England last month.

Embed from Getty Images

Chair of selectors Julien Wiener spoke about the aim of the tour and what it means to be selected into the squad.

"With constructive and insightful input from state coaches and high-performance managers, we have identified emerging talent from across the country, alongside experienced players including Hannah Darlington and Damon Egan who toured as part of the National Indigenous squads in 2018," Wiener said.

"Whilst the aim to is bring strong and competitive squads to the Pacific, our focus is also on providing opportunities to develop and nurture young Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cricketers and we look forward to player development both on and off the field."

National Women's Indigenous squad: 

Hannah Darlington (c) (Kamilaroi, NSW), Grace Abdy (Waanyi Ganggalida, QLD), Callee Black (Wiradjuri, NSW), Christina Coulson (Kaurareg, QLD), Carly Fuller (Bundjalung, VIC), Merinda Hale (Yorta Yorta, VIC), Ella Hayward (Jawoyn, VIC), Mikayla Hinkley (Kunja, QLD), Piper Hooke (North East Wiradjuri, NSW), Veronica Keen (Badimia, WA), Tahlia Meier (Wamba Wamba, VIC), Clodagh Ryall (Thursday Island, QLD), Charlotte Toohey (WA), Taleha Urszulak (Dharawal, NSW)

National Men's Indigenous squad:

Damon Egan (c) (Gunditjmara, VIC), Charlie Anderson (Kamilaroi, NSW), Cody Hoffmeister (Palawa, WA), Wade King (Ngyampaa, VIC), Brandon Kopper (Palawa, TAS), Brock Larance (Biripi, NSW), Tyran Liddiard (Biripi, NSW), Dylan McLachlan (Kamilaroi, QLD), Brynley Richards (Dharawal, NSW), Kobe Ross (Kaiwalagal, NSW), Tyrell Sinclair (Ngarrindjeri, Yorta Yorta, SA), Brendan Smith (Dhungutti, NSW), Nicolas Taylor (Noongar, WA), Bailey Toseland (Taungurung, VIC)