TOPSHOT - Australia's captain Aaron Finch looks on in the field during the 2019 Cricket World Cup second semi-final between England and Australia at Edgbaston in Birmingham, central England, on July 11, 2019. (Photo by Dibyangshu Sarkar / AFP) / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE (Photo credit should read DIBYANGSHU SARKAR/AFP/Getty Images)

Australia has unveiled a new look T20 squad for their games against Sri Lanka and Pakistan beginning later this month.

There was no room for reigning ODI player of the year Marcus Stoinis as well as big-hitting batsmen Chris Lynn and D'Arcy Short.

Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Billy Stanlake will lead a fiery attack with all capable of bowling 150km on a regular basis.

"It is almost a year to the day until Australia hosts the men's Twenty20 World Cup and we have selected this squad with that in mind," National Selector Trevor Hohns told

"The squad we have selected is quite role specific and we believe it gives us the flexibility to thrive in all match conditions.

"In terms of batsmen, we have selected top and middle-order specialists. The likes of Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Ashton Turner and Carey provide us excellent options through the middle-order after Finch, Warner and Smith.

"In terms of spinners, we feel like the all-round package Ashton Agar possesses is irresistible at the moment and Adam Zampa has proven to be a very good T20 bowler in all conditions."

Wicketkeeper Alex Carey and Cummins will share the vice-captaincy, while the series will see a return to the T20 squad for David Warner and Steve Smith.

Australia squad:

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

T20 Internationals v Sri Lanka

First T20: October 27, Adelaide Oval, 2pm

Second T20: October 30, Gabba, 6.10pm

Third T20: November 1, MCG, 7.10pm

T20 Internationals v Pakistan 

First T20: November 3, SCG, 2.30pm

Second T20: November 5, Manuka Oval, 7.10pm

Third T20: November 8, Perth Stadium, 4.30pm