PERTH, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 01: Patrick Cummins of the Thunder prepares to bowl during the Big Bash League match between the Perth Scorchers and Sydney Thunder at WACA on January 1, 2015 in Perth, Australia. (Photo by Will Russell/Getty Images)

With the opening match of the BBL06 season set to take place between the Sydney Thunder and Sydney Sixers on Tuesday night, both sides have released their playing squads ahead of the match.

Thunder quick Pat Cummins returns to play his first Big Bash League match since BBL04, while the Sixers welcome in captain Moises Henriques and spinner Stephen O'Keefe, as the pair missed New South Wales' last Sheffield Shield outing.

Sydney Sixers squad: Moises Henriques (captain), Sean Abbott, Sam Billings, Doug Bollinger, Johan Botha, Ben Dwarshuis, Brad Haddin, Daniel Hughes, Joe Mennie, Stephen O’Keefe, Jason Roy, Henry Thornton, Jordan Silk

Sydney Thunder squad: Ben Rohrer (captain), Fawad Ahmed, Aiden Blizzard, Pat Cummins, Jake Doran, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Jay Lenton, Clint McKay, Eoin Morgan, Kurtis Patterson, Gurinder Sandhu, Andre Russell

Thunder batsman Kurtis Patterson is looking forward to Pat Cummins and Andre Russell teaming up once again, and is excited at the prospect of seeing the pair at work.

“Whenever you’ve got two blokes who can bowl over 145km/h and touching 150, it’s quite a nice trait to have in your side,” said Patterson.

“I think it is going to be important for us to manage them and not to get too excited about them early on because they will be key bowlers throughout our 20 overs.

“It is certainly exciting to have both of those guys on board and it is going to be good fun watching them both go tomorrow night.”