SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 06: Usman Khawaja of Australia celebrates his century during day two of the Fourth Test Match in the Ashes series between Australia and England at Sydney Cricket Ground on January 06, 2022 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

Usman Khawaja will captain Queensland in their Sheffield Shield season opener, with all of Marnus Labuschagne, Michael Neser, Matthew Renshaw and Joe Burns to line up alongside him, while Tim Paine's return to first class cricket has also been confirmed in a Tasmanian side to be captained by Jordan Silk.

With selection for the Australian Test team ahead of the first Test against the West Indies - which then leads into series against South Africa and away to India and England following the home summer - around the corner, form will be critical over the next month and a half.

Khawaja and Labuschagne's spots within the Australian set up are virtually assured at opener and first drop respectively, although both will still be pushing for runs against Tasmania, while Renshaw and Burns could both be sniffing around the squad with a big start to the Shield season.

Neser is another who could put his name in lights, while batsman Bryce Street's name has been floated as a future Australian candidate in seasons to come.

Joining them in the Queensland squad is Jimmy Pierson and Gurinder Sandhu, as well as Mark Steketee to bring plenty of experience at first class level to their home opener, which gets underway on Thursday at Brisbane's Allan Border Field.

Tim Paine's return to the competition follows his break from cricket last summer after he stood down as captain of the Australian men's Test team.

He is expected to wear the gloves for the Tigers as Jordan Silk takes over captaining all three formats this season.

In a strong Tasmanian team, Caleb Jewell and Tim Ward will look to kick off their seasons the same way they ended the last one, while experience will be provided by Peter Siddle and Jackson Bird in the bowling attack.

The game gets underway at 10am local time on Thursday.

Queensland squad
Usman Khawaja (c)
James Bazley
Joe Burns
Jack Clayton
Blake Edwards
Marnus Labuschagne
Jimmy Peirson
Michael Neser
Matthew Renshaw
Gurinder Sandhu
Mark Steketee
Bryce Street

Tasmania squad
Jackson Bird
Jake Doran
Jarrod Freeman
Caleb Jewell
Riley Meredith
Ben McDermott
Tim Paine
Sam Rainbird
Peter Siddle
Jordan Silk (c)
Charlie Wakim
Tim Ward
Beau Webster