AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND - MARCH 23: Kane Williamson of New Zealand warms up during a New Zealand nets session at Eden Park on March 23, 2015 in Auckland, New Zealand. (Photo by Hannah Peters/Getty Images)

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson will return from injury and captain his side during the Chappell-Hadlee series next month, while fast bowler Trent Boult has also been named in the 15-man Blackcaps squad.

Williamson had been suffering a quad injury, which caused him to miss the final two games of the recent white-ball series against the West Indies in the Carribbean.

Meanwhile, Boult was released from his New Zealand Cricket (NZC) central contract earlier this month on his own accord in order to spend less time travelling and more time with his family.

But both Kiwi veterans will be available for the three-match series with Australia set to be staged in Cairns under lights on September 6, 8 and 11.

Williamson told NZC that heading across the Tasman was always a huge occasion for his side and he was looking forward to the challenge.

"It’s a great rivalry we have with Australia; it’s always a huge occasion for the fans, and the team really look forward to it," Williamson said.

"You grow up watching the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy series and remembering the great battles, so to be part of another chapter is pretty special.

"We know how tough Australia are to beat in their own conditions and we’re looking forward to the challenge."

The dual inclusion confirms that the 12th edition of the trans-Tasman trophy will be a hotly contested one between two stacked international sides - Australia lead the series count 6-4, while two series have been drawn.

The scheduled three matches will come earlier in the Australian season than normal after multiple attempts to reschedule the cancelled 2020 Australia-New Zealand ODI series (Covid-19 enforced).

Blackcaps head coach Gary Stead said his side are under no illusion about the importance of the Chappell-Hadlee series.

"We know how much the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy means to our fans and we’re excited by the opportunity to head to Australia and try and win it back," he said.

"With the ICC ODI World Cup in India just 14 months away - it’s great to be playing more ODI cricket as we build towards the tournament next October-November."

Fast bowler Matt Henry has recovered from a rib injury in time to return to the squad, and has replaced Ish Sodhi.

Fellow fast bowlers Kyle Jamieson (back) and Adam Milne (Achilles) have both been ruled out with injuries.


Kane Williamson (captain), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (wicketkeeper), Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ben Sears, Tim Southee.


Aaron Finch (captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.