India's captain Virat Kohli gestures during the fourth day of the second Test cricket match between India and New Zealand at The Eden Gardens Cricket Stadium in Kolkata on October 3, 2016. DIBYANGSHU SARKAR/AFP/Getty Images

Virat Kohli is only six more runs away from overtaking India’s legend Sachin Tendulkar when it comes to scoring 6,000 test runs.

The 29-year-old guided India to a commanding lead over England at Trent Bridge in the third test between the two teams after scoring his second century of the series.

Kohli eventually got out LBW to Chris Woakes after making 103 runs, leaving him at 5,994 test runs in just 118 innings.

If Kohli is to score those six runs needed in his next innings, possibly the fourth test in Southampton, it will see him reach the feat in one innings fewer than the great Tendulkar.

The record is still held by the legendary Sir Donald Bradman, who scored 6,000 runs in an unprecedented 68 innings.

Sunil Gavaskar holds the Indian record at 117 innings to reach the milestone, with Aussie Steve Smith equaling second on the list earlier in the year with 111 innings.

Tendulkar reached the milestone at just the age of 26, being the only person to score 6,000 test runs prior to turning 27 years old.

Kohli is currently rewriting his own history as he proves he can handle English conditions, scoring 440 runs for the entire series so far, including centuries in the first and third tests.

The right-hander could equal Rahul Dravid’s tally of three centuries in England, the most for any Indian who’s visited the country, if Kohli manages to score another hundred in the final two test matches.

Below is the fastest list of players to reach 6,000 test runs:

Sir Donald Bradman (Aus) – 68 innings
Sir Garfield Sobers (WI) – 111 innings
Steve Smith (Aus) – 111 innings
Wally Hammond (Eng) – 114 innings
Sir Len Hutton (Eng) – 116 innings
Ken Barrington (Eng) – 116 innings
Kumar Sangakkara (SL) – 116 innings
Sunil Gavaskar (Ind) – 117 innings
Viv Richards (WI) – 120 innings
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind) – 120 innings
Mohammad Yousuf (Pak) – 120 innings