MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 28: Mitchell Starc of Australia tapes his finger during day three of the Second Test match in the series between Australia and South Africa at Melbourne Cricket Ground on December 28, 2022 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

The MCC has confirmed Mitchell Starc's non-catch saw the umpires make the correct decision at Lord's on Day 4.

With England batting in the fourth innings of the match, Ben Duckett attempted to elevate a bouncer towards third man, getting a flying top edge to fine leg.

Starc would run around to complete what appeared to be a safe low catch, however, replays would show that he ultimately ran the ball along the ground in attempting to complete the catching action as he slid.

Duckett, who was on 50 from just 65 balls at the time, would be called back to the crease by the umpires on review, with third umpire Marais Erasmus giving the play not out.

Mass controversy ensued on social media, with fans unable to understand how the decision was not out.

However, law 33 states a catch must be made without the ball touching the ground at any stage. The making of a catch as per law 33.3 is described as:

"The act of making a catch shall start from the time when the ball first comes into contact with a fielder's person and shall end when a fielder obtains complete control over both the ball and his/her own movement."

Given Starc was still in the same motion as making the catch, control was never established, and the catch was struck down.

The MCC has already come out in support of the decision from the umpires.

Duckett remained on 50 not out at the close of play, with England 4 for 114 in a chase of 371 with a day of play remaining in the second Ashes Test.