Ben McDermott smashes a boundary during the Big Bash League match between the Melbourne Renegades and the Hobart Hurricanes at Etihad Stadium on January 12, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia.

Ben McDermott was the hero for the Hurricanes on Thursday night, as his 52-ball 114 led Hobart to a unbelievable win over the Renegades.

Melbourne batted first and set the record for the most runs in a BBL innings, as their 222 set Hobart the biggest run chase in the league's six-year history.

Hobart were up against it from the start, but with George Bailey's 59 alongside McDermott, the visitors were able to do the impossible and record an amazing win.

The match broke multiple records across the BBL including the highest score by an individual in the second innings of a match, but where did McDermott's score rank among not only BBL counterparts, but T20 scores across the world?

Only Englishman Luke Wright can boast a greater single-innings run tally, as his 117 from 60 for the Melbourne Stars against the Hurricanes in 2012 still remains the greatest score by a BBL batsman.

McDermott becomes only the 13th batsman to achieve the 100-run milestone in the Big Bash League, while Wright, Usman Khawaja and Craig Simmons are in a league of their own, having scored BBL centuries on two separate occasions.

Despite the very impressive total, McDermott's 114 isn't anywhere near the top individual scores in history, and is an amazing 61 runs short of the highest ever total.

T20 superstar Chris Gayle leads all comers with an unbelievable 175 not out, which he achieved for Royal Challengers Bangalore against the Pune Warriors in 2013 in the IPL.

CANBERRA, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 24: Chris Gayle of West Indies celebrates his double century during the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup match between the West Indies and Zimbabwe at Manuka Oval on February 24, 2015 in Canberra, Australia. (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

Gayle is one of six players to have broken the 150 barrier in T20 cricket, as he (175*, 151*) and Brendon McCullum (158*, 158*) are the pair that have achieved the staggering feat twice.

Highest individual scores in T20 history

Runs Balls Team Opponent
Chris Gayle 175* 66 RCB Warriors
Hamilton Masakadza 162* 71 Mountaineers Eagles
Brendon McCullum 158* 73 KKR RCB
Brendon McCullum 158* 64 Warwickshire Derbyshire
Aaron Finch 156 63 Australia England
Luke Wright 153* 66 Sussex Essex
Graham Napier 152* 58 Essex Sussex
Chris Gayle 151* 62 Somerset Kent
Glenn Maxwell 145* 65 Australia Sri Lanka
Louis van der Westhuizen 145 50 Namibia Kenya