MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 14: Australia stand as a team for the national anthem during game one of the One Day International Series between Australia and England at Melbourne Cricket Ground on January 14, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

The Melbourne Cricket Ground will host the T20 World Cup finals for the men’s and women’s tournaments in 2020.

Eight cities are set to host entirety of the T20 World Cup; Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney.

The men’s and women’s tournaments will be stand-alone events for the first time in the tournament’s short history, yet will both be held in Australia in 2020.

16 teams will contest the men’s tournament from October 18 to November 15, whereas 10 teams will contest the women’s tournament from February 21 to March 8.

“Australia is extremely privileged to be hosting the ICC World T20 tournaments in 2020,” said Cricket Australia Chairman David Peever.

“(The T20 World Cup) provides a unique opportunity to engage the whole community and inspire the next generation to love cricket.”

The men’s semi-finals will be held at the SCG and the Adelaide Oval.