The Mumbai Indians have claimed the inaugural WPL title defeating the Delhi Capitals by seven wickets.

The defeat to the Capitals means Australian captain Meg Lanning has fallen just short of adding another title to her brilliant cricketing resume.

Despite scoring 35 runs batting first, Lanning was unable to put on an aggressive score on the scoreboard. As Delhi ended with 9/131, Mumbai Indians needed to score 132 runs for the win.

In reply, English all-rounder Nat Sciver-Brunt put on a brilliant performance with the bat, scoring her third fifty of the tournament on her way to 60 runs.

Her innings provided the backbone Mumbai needed as they emerged victorious by seven wickets.

Sciver-Brunt's teammate Hayley Matthews walked away with the tournament's MVP award and top wicket-taker, while Meg Lanning led the tournament with runs scored.

Lanning was proud of her team post-match but knew her side didn't play anywhere near their full capabilities as a squad.

"Mumbai deserved it but I certainly can't fault the effort from our team. We didn't play our best game but we fought right to the end and I'm very proud of our efforts," said Lanning via the AAP.

"It's been very enjoyable experience, I've loved every moment of it. It's been a lot of fun and I just hope it continues to grow and get better each year, which I've no doubt it will."

"I've been waiting for this moment for a long time. It feels like a dream - not only for me but for everyone here."

"So many people were asking us when the WPL was going to come - and today is that day, and I'm so happy and so proud we did so well."

The 15 Australians who competed in the Women's Premier League will now return back to Australia.