West Indies cricketers celebrate after dismissed Sri Lankan cricketer Tillakaratne Dilshan during the second and final T20 International cricket match between Sri Lanka and the West Indies at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on November 11, 2015. AFP PHOTO / LAKRUWAN WANNIARACHCHI (Photo credit should read LAKRUWAN WANNIARACHCHI/AFP/Getty Images)
The West Indies have named their squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia, with selectors unable to find a spot for big-hitting all-rounder Andre Russell nor spinner Sunil Narine in the 15-man contingent.
Evin Lewis and Johnson Charles will make a somewhat surprising returns to the squad, having not donned the maroon since 2021 and 2016 respectively, while selectors have also included duel uncapped all-rounders Yannic Cariah and Raymon Reifer in the squad.

Nicholas Pooran will captain the side, with Rovman Powell his deputy.


Cricket West Indies lead selector Desmond Haynes said there was a will to balance youth and experience, and to reward current form when selecting the squad.

"We have selected a mixture of youth and experience to represent the West Indies. In the selection process, we have been cognisant of the ongoing CPL and we have been looking at the players who have been playing very well," he said.

"I said at the beginning of my tenure that I would be interested in giving players the opportunity and I think I have been consistent in doing that.

"I believe it is a very good team we have selected, and it is a team that will compete, given that we have to qualify from Round 1 into the Super12s.

"There are players who did not make the team and I hope they will continue to work hard and perform to their best in the CPL and the upcoming CG United Super50 Cup; because you never know what can happen in case of injuries or any other unforeseen situations where we might need to call up players as replacements."

The West Indies will touch down in Australia soon ahead of a preparatory two-match bilateral series against the Aussies, with matches to be played on October 5 (Metricon Stadium) and October 7 (The Gabba).

The West Indies - two-time World T20 champions - will begin their campaign against Scotland on October 17.

T20 World Cup squad: Nicholas Pooran (c), Rovman Powell, Yannic Cariah, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Kyle Mayers, Obed Mccoy, Raymon Reifer, Odean Smith