COFFS HARBOUR, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 17: Matt Short of the Strikers bats during the Men's Big Bash League match between the Sydney Sixers and the Adelaide Strikers at Coffs Harbour International Stadium, on January 17, 2023, in Coffs Harbour, Australia. (Photo by Chris Hyde/Getty Images)

As the 2022-23 Big Bash League has come to a close, all eyes will be on the clubs to re-sign their star players ahead of the next edition of the BBL.

The list of off-contract players includes the BBL12 Player of the Tournament, the leading wicket-taker and many current and former Australian national team players.

Headling the list is Matt Short who was the Player of the Tournament in the BBL. Short has had a breakout past couple of seasons scoring 493 runs and 458 runs in consecutive BBL tournaments.

"I'm definitely in talks to stay in Adelaide for sure, it's a great wicket to bat on," Short said at the Allan Border Medal night.

"There's (been) a few messages thrown out here and there, especially to get back to Melbourne, but I'm very happy in Adelaide."

"They've been good to me and given me the opportunities they have in the last five years, so I'm more than happy to stay in Adelaide."

Joining Short on the off-contract list at the Adelaide Strikers is Chris Lynn. No one expected Lynn to have as much of an impact as he did with the bat. After transferring from the Brisbane Heat, Lynn showed new life at the top of the order.

Lynn's former Brisbane teammate Ben Cutting may also be on the move for the new season. Failing to cement his spot into the Sydney Thunder team until injuries arose, he had a disappointing season. This included not getting the chance to bowl in most matches he played.

Back-to-back winners Perth Scorchers have already re-signed cult heroes Cooper Connolly and Nick Hobson who got them over the line in the BBL final. Although they are yet to re-sign first-team stars Jason Behrendorff, Cameron Bancroft, Cameron Green and Lance Morris.

Neither of these players seems like they will be leaving Perth. Due to the bowling stocks at the Scorchers, Behrendorff will be hot property for the other clubs to sign.

Runners-up Brisbane Heat came so close to winning their second BBL title on Saturday night. Aiming to go one better next season, they have already re-signed Australian players Usman Khawaja, Michael Neser and Matthew Renshaw. However, they will be looking to retain the services of Mitchell Swepson, and Marnus Labuschagne. Despite not playing a full season, both players were instrumental in getting them into the final.

Other big names who are off-contract include Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Sean Abbott and D'Arcy Short. Short is the competition's fourth-leading run-scorer of all time. However, with the Hurricanes having a deep batting line-up he found himself on the outskirts of the team. This included being dropped for some games in the regular season.

All clubs can begin to contact players and make non-binding arrangements but won't be able to formally sign anyone to a contract in the embargo period.

Full List of Off-Contract Players

Adelaide Strikers: Harry Conway, Ryan Gibson, Chris Lynn, Harry Nielsen, Matt Short, Peter Siddle

Brisbane HeatXavier Bartlett, James Bazley, Sam Heazlett, Matthew Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Jimmy Perison, Mitchell Swepson, Jack Wildermuth

Hobart HurricanesIain Carlisle, Nathan Ellis, Joel Paris, Wil Parker, D'Arcy Short, Chris Tremain, Mac Wright

Melbourne Renegades: Zak Evans, Aaron Finch, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Harris, Jack Prestwidge, Corey Rocchiccioli, Will Sutherland

Melbourne StarsNathan Coulter-Nile, Sam Elliott, Liam Hatcher, Clint Hinchliffe, Campbell Kellaway, Cameron McClure, Tom O'Connell

Perth ScorchersCameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Cameron Green, Peter Hatzoglou, Matthew Kelly, Lance Morris

Sydney SixersSean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Mickey Edwards, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes

Sydney ThunderBen Cutting, Brendan Doggett, Baxter Holt, Blake Nikitaras, Sam Whiteman