Sheffield Shield - WA v SA: Day 3
PERTH, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 13: Lance Morris of Western Australia receives the ball during the Sheffield Shield match between Western Australia and South Australia at WACA, on November 13, 2022, in Perth, Australia. (Photo by Will Russell/Getty Images)
Sheffield Shield - WA v SA: Day 3

A number of stars who toured India for the Border-Gavaskar trophy will return for the Sheffield Shield final, which gets underway in Perth on Thursday.

In what is a rematch of last year's final, Victoria booked their spot in the final with a win over the men from the west last week during the final round o the competition.

Scott Boland had already returned for that match, but will now be joined in the final by Peter Handscomb and Todd Murphy, who have since returned from the end of the Indian tour after playing in the fourth and final Test.

Murphy's return means Jon Holland will likely be dropped for the Victorians, with Handscomb also to take back the captaincy from Will Sutherland, who took the role while the veteran batsman was in India.

On the Western Australian side of the coin, they will still be without Jhye Richardson for the final, who is looking to return from a hamstring complaint in time for the IPL and other winter commitments.

Cameron Green, Mitchell Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Josh Inglis and Ashton Agar are also still missing given they are on the ODI leg of the Indian tour which won't be completed until after the Shield final gets underway.

Lance Morris will make his return though after playing in India, while Joel Paris and Matt Kelly, who were rested for the final round of the season, have also been named.

Play commences on each of the five days for the final at 10am local time - 1pm (AEDT).

Western Australia squad

Sam Whiteman (c), Cameron Bancroft, Hilton Cartwright, Sam Fanning, Cameron Gannon, Aaron Hardie, Matt Kelly, Lance Morris, Joel Paris, Josh Philippe, Corey Rocchiccioli, Ashton Turner, Teague Wyllie

Victoria squad

Peter Handscomb (c), Scott Boland, Ashley Chandrasinghe, Travis Dean, Sam Harper, Marcus Harris, Jon Holland, Campbell Kellaway, Cameron McClure, Todd Murphy, Fergus O'Neill, Mitchell Perry, Matt Short, Will Sutherland