BBL - Sixers v Scorchers
COFFS HARBOUR, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 09: Jordan Silk of the Sixers bats during the Men's Big Bash League match between the Sydney Sixers and the Perth Scorchers at , on January 09, 2022, in Coffs Harbour, Australia. (Photo by Matt Roberts/Getty Images)
BBL - Sixers v Scorchers

The Sydney Sixers and Brisbane Heat have both confirmed their squads for Thursday night's BBL Challenger Final at the SCG.

Both sides have seen star players forced to leave their domestic duties as they venture to India for Australia's upcoming four-Test series.

The Sixers have been required to bid farewell to in-form opener Steve Smith and spinner Todd Murphy for the penultimate match of the tournament.

Chasing their seventh BBL Final placing, the Sixers are likely to welcome Dan Hughes to the top of their order in place of Smith, with the Sixers naming a 16-man squad for their home final.

With Murphy not featuring in the Sixers' Qualifier loss to the Perth Scorchers last week, it's expected Hughes' inclusion will be the sole change for the Sydney franchise, with Jack Edwards, Mickey Edwards, Josh Kann, Lachlan Shaw and Jackson Bird all on standby.

The Heat have lost a trio of top-order batsmen for Thursday's clash, with skipper Usman Khawaja, Manrus Labuschagne and Matthew Renshaw all required to make the trip to the sub-continent along with spinner Mitch Swepson.

The Heat have named Nathan McSweeney as a Local Replacement Player in place of Labuschagne, while international Ross Whiteley returns from a thumb injury.

Brisbane will also have Sam Heazlett, Mark Steketee, Will Prestwidge and Jack Wildermuth in the mix for selection.

Sydney Sixers Squad

Sean Abbott
Jackson Bird
Dan Christian
Ben Dwarshuis
Jack Edwards
Mickey Edwards
Moises Henriques
Daniel Hughes
Josh Kann
Hayden Kerr
Izharulhaq Naveed
Steve O'Keefe
Kurtis Patterson
Josh Philippe
Lachlan Shaw
Jordan Silk

Brisbane Heat Squad

Jimmy Peirson (c)
Xavier Bartlett
James Bazley
Josh Brown (LRP)
Max Bryant
Sam Hain
Sam Heazlett
Spencer Johnson
Matt Kuhnemann
Nathan McSweeney (LRP)
Michael Neser
Will Prestwidge
Mark Steketee
Ross Whiteley
Jack Wildermuth

Both squads are required to omit players to shape their XIs, with a 12th player to be named closer to the toss.

The Challenger will take place at the SCG on Thursday, February 2 at 7:15pm (AEDT), with the winner to face the Perth Scorchers at Optus Stadium on Saturday, February 5.