PERTH, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 05: Dean Elgar of South Africa bats during day three of the First Test match between Australia and South Africa at the WACA on November 5, 2016 in Perth, Australia. (Photo by Paul Kane/Getty Images)

South Africa have appointed ODI captain Temba Bavuma as their new red-ball skipper, with the middle-order batsman replacing Dean Elgar as the Proteas' leading man.

The move comes in the wake of South Africa's horror trip to Australia for their summer schedule, with the tourists unable to impress abroad under Elgar's leadership.

Now preparing for their two-Test series against the West Indies on home soil, South Africa have undergone a changing of the guard to see Bavuma step into the captaincy for their Test side, a move that is seen as a "good fit" by Test coach Shukri Conrad.

"This was my decision. I felt Temba and I were a good fit, and Dean's still going to play a huge part in our leadership group," Conrad told media.

"Dean's done an exceptional job over the last couple of years … this doesn't make Dean a poor captain and Temba a good captain. But I felt this was the right fit for me and for us going forward."

CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA - JANUARY 05: Temba Bavuma of South Africa celebrates his century during day four of the 2nd Test at Newlands Stadium on January 5, 2016 in Cape Town, South Africa. (Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images)

Elgar's relinquished captaincy isn't the only change for the Proteas, with South Africa's squad undergoing several changes following their 0-2 efforts down under.

Uncapped trio Tony de Zorzi,Gerald Coetzee and Senuran Muthusamy have been named in the 15-man squad, while Keegan Petersen, Aiden Markram and Ryan Rickelton have been recalled.

Sarel Erwee and Rassie van der Dussen have been dropped from Conrad's squad, while Theunis de Bruyn has called time on his international career.

South Africa and the West Indies will play two Test matches, three ODIs and three T20s as part of the latter's trip overseas.

The first Test will take place in Pretoria from February 28.

South Africa Test squad for West Indies series: 

Temba Bavuma (c), Gerald Coetzee, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Simon Harmer, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Senuran Muthusamy, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton